Corrections, Department of

Permanent URI for this collection

The Department of Corrections is responsible for maintaining State prisons, correctional facilities, and the care of prisoners. It is comprised of three divisions: Administration, Operations, and Programs and Community Services.

The Department of Corrections was established in 1976 when the Department of Institutions and Agencies was abolished and reorganized into two separate departments: Human Services and Corrections.

Authorizing law(s) and reorganization plans: Chapter 98 of the Laws of 1976; Chapter 79 of the Laws of 2001.


Collections in this Collection

Now showing 1 - 4 of 4
Records, documents and information made available by the agencies of New Jersey state government or its subdivisions are the property of the people of the state of New Jersey. Therefore, the New Jersey State Library considers these items to be in the public domain according to US copyright law (see Title 17, U.S.C.). Responsibility for making legal assessment of items and securing necessary permissions rests with the individual user.