Children and Families

Permanent URI for this collection

The Department is comprised of ten units, which have responsibilities for ensuring the safety, well-being and success of children, youth, families and communities. They are: Child Protection and Permanency (formerly the Division of Youth and Family Services (DYFS)), Children's System of Care, Family and Community Partnerships, Adolescent Services, Advocacy, Education, Licensing, Performance Management and Accountability, the Institutional Abuse Investigation Unit, and the Division of Women.

The Department was established in 2006, when its functions, powers, and responsibilities were transferred from the Department of Human Services.

Authorizing law(s) and reorganization plans: Chapter 47 of the Laws of 2006


Records, documents and information made available by the agencies of New Jersey state government or its subdivisions are the property of the people of the state of New Jersey. Therefore, the New Jersey State Library considers these items to be in the public domain according to US copyright law (see Title 17, U.S.C.). Responsibility for making legal assessment of items and securing necessary permissions rests with the individual user.