03 - TITLE 3. BANKING (Superseded)

Permanent URI for this collection

The Department of Banking and Insurance is comprised of three main units: the Division of Banking, the Division of Insurance, and the New Jersey Real Estate Commission. It has responsibilities for the supervision and regulation of the banking, insurance and real estate industries, including state-chartered banks and credit unions, consumer credit services licenses, mortgage bankers and brokers, insurance licensees and applicants. It oversees premium rates, policy forms, and ensures the solvency of insurance companies. It also issues real estate licenses and investigates consumer complaints.

Banking and Insurance was one of the thirteen departments established under the New Jersey Constitution of 1947. It was reorganized into separate departments (Department of Banking and Department of Insurance, respectively) in 1970, but these departments were reunited in 1996. Prior to the Constitution of 1947, similar functions and services were provided by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance.

Authorizing law(s) and reorganization plans: Chapter 88 of the Laws of 1948; Chapter 11 of the Laws of 1970; Chapter 45 of the Laws of 1996.


Collections in this Collection

Now showing 1 - 1 of 1