| 2018   |   | Office of the Governor   Newsroom                   |  |                             |  |        |
|--|---|---|--|-----------------------------|--|--------|
|  |   |   |  | NJ Home   Servio            | vices A to Z   Departments/Agencies   FA |        |
|  |   |   |  | Search All of NJ            | V  | Submit |
| Home Newsroom Med  | a Administration  | NJ's Priorities                                     | Contact Us                                   |                             |  |        |
| Press Releases Public Addresse   | s Executive Orders                                      | Press Kit Rep                                       | oorts  |                             |  |        |
| Home > Newsroom > Press Releases >   | 2012  |   |  |                             |  |        |
| Governor Christie Ann<br>Approved for All 21 Ne  |   |   | ance   |                             | Stay Connected<br>with Social Media      |        |
| Sunday, November 4, 2012 Tags: <u>Hurric</u>   | ane Sandy   |   |  |                             |  |        |
| <ul> <li>Trenton, NJ – Governor Chris Christie today announced that the federal government has extended public assistance to all 21 counties in New Jersey as a result of the impact of Hurricane Sandy, extending public assistance now to all 11 New Jersey counties not previously approved. This additional assistance comes in the aftermath of the historic hurricane, while joint Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDA) continue to take place in these 11 counties to determine eligibility for individual assistance.</li> <li>Public Assistance Program funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Sandy.</li> <li>Individuals impacted by Hurricane Sandy in the 10 counties previously approved for both public and individual assistance are encouraged to register with FEMA. Those counties include: Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Somerset and Union counties. Eligibility allows New Jerseyans to apply for different types of assistance, including temporary housing, repair, replacement or other needs such as Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.</li> </ul> |   |   |  |                             | Stay Connected<br>with Email Alerts      |        |
| Register by phone at 800-621-FEMA (3<br>Specialists are standing by at the toll-fre<br>delp in languages other than English is<br>an also apply through a web-enabled r<br>o "apply online for federal assistance."  | e numbers seven days a w<br>available. Or you can regis | veek, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.<br>ter online at http://www | local time, until fur<br>.disasterassistance | ther notice.<br>e.gov/. You |  |        |
| ***  |   |   |  |                             |  |        |
| Press Contact:<br>Michael Drewniak<br>Kevin Roberts<br>509-777-2600  |   |   |  |                             |  |        |
|  |   |   |  |                             |  |        |

OPRA | Open Public Records Act S

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement & Disclaimers | Accessibility Statement | 🧕

Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs Office of the Governor: Home | Newsroom | Media | Administration | NJ's Priorities | Contact Us

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2018 Office of the Governor PO Box 001 Trenton, NJ 08625 609-292-6000