On This Page

- Committee on Model Civil Jury Charges
- 2022-2024 Committee Members

The Model Civil Jury Charges are a framework for building a set of jury instructions. Each case turns on unique facts and trial courts and litigants must tailor the model charges to conform to the facts and circumstances of the case being tried. The Committee on Model Civil Jury Charges attempts to keep the model charges current with the state of the law. Where applicable, trial judges and litigants must tailor the Model Civil Jury Charges to reflect changes in the law since the Committee published any particular model jury charge. Accordingly, the Model Civil Jury Charge Committee reminds trial judges and litigants that the Model Civil Jury Charges are merely the starting point of the process of constructing an appropriate charge that adequately explains the law to the jury in the context of the material facts of the case being tried.

Read <u>Directive #04-07 Jury Selection Standards and Voir Dire</u>

Questions

Read the Standard Jury Selections for Civil Trials

See all Notices to the Bar related to Model Civil Jury Charges

Committee on Model Civil Jury Charges

The <u>Model Civil Jury Charge Committee</u> is a standing committee of the New Jersey Supreme Court. The New Jersey Supreme Court does not sanction or approve the model charges before publication by the Committee, although the Court does sometimes comment on the sufficiency of a charge in the context of a particular case.

The Committee prepares and updates model civil jury charges to be useful to trial judges and litigants to accomplish the important function of adequately and understandably instructing civil juries. The charges provide model instructions and related clarifying judges' notes. The charges are created to enhance comprehension by jurors, while retaining a balanced and accurate statement of the law.

Chat

2022-2024 Committee Members

Judge Michael V. Cresitello, Jr., Chair Judge Mara Zazzali-Hogan, Vice-Chair

Sean P. Buckley

Judge Timothy W. Chell

David J. Dering

Judge Bina K. Desai

Michael J. Epstein

Erica Leigh Fields

Corey J. Gaul

Craig J. Hubert

Judge Sarah Beth Johnson

Marian I. Kelly

Evan J. Lide

Cristie R. Nastasi

Judge John D. O'Dwyer

Ryan A. Richman

Stefani C. Schwartz

Asaad K. Siddiqi

Kristi Jasberg Robinson, Committee Staff Suvarna Sampale, Committee Staff